WSDL is the acronym for Web Services Description Language.

In WSDL a service is defined in three distinct sections...

Currently in WSDL, each port has one and only one binding, and each binding has a single portType. But (more importantly) each service (portType) can have multiple ports, each of which represents an alternative location and binding for accessing that service.

The Web Services Invocation Framework (WSIF) follows the semantics of WSDL as much as possible...

As a metadata-based invocation framework, WSIF follows the design of the metadata. As WSDL is extended, WSIF is updated to follow.

The implicit and primary type system of WSIF is XML schema. WSIF supports invocation using dynamic proxies, which in turn support Java type systems, but when you use the WSIFMessage interface it is your responsibility to populate WSIFMessage objects with data based on the XML schema types as defined in the WSDL document. You should define your object types by a canonical and fixed mapping from schema types into the run-time.

For more information on WSDL, see Web services: Resources for learning.


See Also

An overview of WSIF
WSIF architecture
Using WSIF with Web services that offer multiple bindings
WSIF usage scenarios
Dynamic invocation