Self enrolment

Enrolments

Self enrolment is the method whereby users can choose to enrol themselves into a course, either immediately by clicking "enrol me in this course" or by typing in an enrolment key they have been given. The enrolment plugin needs to be enabled by the site admin in enrolment plugins and has to be enabled within the course. The manual enrolment plugin has to be enabled in the same course as well.


Contents


Course settings for self enrolment


Checking self enrolment is enabled

In a course, go to Administration > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods and ensure the "eye" is opened for self enrolment.


Adding an enrolment key to a course

If you wish only a certain group of users to self enrol (and not anyone) then we can set an enrolment key which you then tell them to use when they access the self-enrolment screen. See section 1 of enrolment key for how to do this.


Adding a group enrolment key to a course

If you wish your users to enrol themselves directly into a group in the course then we can set a group enrolment key which you then tell them to use when they access the self-enrolment screen. See section 2 of enrolment key for how to do this.

See also this screencast Group enrolment keys in Moodle 2.0.


The following settings may be changed by clicking the edit (hand/pen) icon to the right of the self-enrolment option in Administration > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods:


Setting the enrolment period

Tick the "enable" box to the right of Enrolment period and then choose your dates.


Enrolment duration

Set the amount of time a user enrolment is valid, starting with the moment the user enrols themselves. If disabled, the enrolment duration will be unlimited.


Notifying users when their enrolment expires

It is possible also for students and/or teachers to be notified when enrolments expire by selecting either "Enroller only" or "Enroller and enrolled user" from the dropdown "Notify before enrolment expires" and a time in "Notification threshold".

Editing individual enrolment times

It is possible to edit the date and hour of an individual's enrolment from Administration>Course administration>Users>Enrolled users by clicking the edit icon in the enrolment methods column for the user in question. This then brings up a screen where the date and time can be modified.


Unenrolling students who haven't been active on the course

Choose from the dropdown to the right of "Unenrol inactive after..."


Deciding the maximum number of users in our course

Type the maximum number of users you want in our course in "Max enrolled users". When this limit is reached, nobody will be able to self-enrol. If you leave the number at 0 then there will be no maximum number.


Allowing only cohort members to self-enrol

If you have cohorts set up, then we can restrict self enrolment to particular cohorts by selecting the name of the cohort from the drop down box, A member of the cohort can self-enrol as normal; whereas a non-member gets a message telling them they are not able to self-enrol.


Sending a welcome message to new users

If enabled, users receive the following message via email when they self-enrol in a course:

Welcome to {Course name}
If you have not done so already, you should edit your profile page so that we can learn more about you: {link to profile page}

If you want to send a different message, simply type it in the custom welcome message text box.

We can also add other placeholders to your custom message:

User email {$a->email}
User fullname {$a->fullname}

The welcome message may be sent from the course contact, the keyholder or from the default no-reply address. If the course contact is chosen, then this is the first teacher to be added to the course (if there is more than one teacher.)

Note: An admin can customise the message for the whole site by editing the welcometocoursetext language string. See Language customisation for further details.


Admin settings

The self enrolment plugin may be enabled or disabled throughout the site in Administration > Site administration > Plugins > Enrolments > Manage enrol plugins.


Shared settings for all courses

The page Administration > Site administration > Plugins > Enrolments > Self enrolment. contains options for defaults that admin can set:


Default enrolment settings in new courses

These can be set in Administration > Site administration > Plugins > Enrolments > Self enrolment but teachers in individual courses can alter them to suit their needs:


Self enrolment method options

One course may contain multiple self enrolment methods. User may be enrolled once in each instance only.


Self enrolment capabilities