Reverting updates to previous versions

You can remove an update to some packages to revert to a previous version by using the Roll Back Packages wizard of IBM Installation Manager.


Before you begin

During the rollback process, Installation Manager must access files from the earlier version of the package. By default, these files are stored on your computer when you upgrade to a new package. If you have deleted the files that are saved locally for rollback or cleared the Save files for rollback check box in the Preferences page (File > Preferences > Files for Rollback) while upgrading, you will not be able to roll back to the previous version without the media or repositories that were used to install that version of the package.

Use the rollback feature if you have applied an update to a product package and decide later that you want to remove the update and revert to the earlier version of the product. When you use the rollback feature, Installation Manager uninstalls the updated resources and reinstalls the resources from the previous version. You can only roll back one version level at a time.

For more information, see the Installation Manager online help or Information Center.

To revert an update to a previous version, complete the following steps:


Procedure

  1. On the Start page, click Roll back Packages.

  2. In the Rollback wizard, from the Installation Packages list, select the package that you want to revert to the previous version.

  3. Follow the instructions in the wizard.