Delete clusters

Use this task to remove a cluster and all of its cluster members.

Remove a cluster deletes the cluster and all associated cluster members. When you delete a cluster, there is no option to keep certain cluster members or applications that you have installed on any part of the cluster.

(zos) In a production environment, avoid deleting clusters that are carrying workload. We can, however, add and remove cluster members during production. When to remove a cluster, create a new cluster, adding new members while the old cluster is still operational. After the new cluster is working, remove the cluster members from the old cluster and then delete the cluster.

If the cluster you are removing has applications or modules mapped to it, remap the modules to another cluster, or create a new cluster and remap the modules to the new cluster, before removing the old cluster. After a cluster to which modules are mapped is deleted, the modules cannot be remapped to another cluster. If we do not remap the modules to another cluster before deleting the old one, you must uninstall all of the modules that were mapped to the old cluster, and then reinstall them on a different cluster.

  1. In the console, click Servers > Clusters > WebSphere application server clusters.

  2. Make sure the cluster to remove is stopped.

    If the cluster is started, stop the cluster.

  3. Delete the cluster. Select the cluster to delete, and click Delete.

  4. Click OK and then click Review to preview the changes.

  5. Select Synchronize changes with Nodes, and then click Save to save the changes.


Results

The cluster and all of the cluster members are deleted.


Subtopics


Related tasks

  • Delete specific cluster members
  • Balancing workloads