Deleting clusters using the job manager

We can submit the Delete cluster job to remove a cluster from the flexible management environment.

Start the job manager, the deployment manager, and the targets on which the cluster resides.

Each cluster to delete must be a managed resource of the job manager.

We can use the console of the job manager or the deployment manager to delete a cluster from one or more managed targets. From the console, choose the Delete cluster job, specify job options, review the summary, and submit the job.

The job stops the cluster, if it is running, and removes the cluster from the flexible management environment and from the deployment manager node.

Instead of using a console, we can run the deleteCluster job script in the AdministrativeJobs command group. See the Administrative job types topic.

  1. Click Jobs > Submit from the navigation tree of the console.

  2. Choose a job to delete a cluster.

    1. Select the Delete cluster job type from the list.

    2. Optionally specify a description of the job.

    3. Click Next.

  3. Choose the job targets from which to delete a cluster.

    1. Select a group of targets from the list, or select Target names.

    2. If we selected Target names, then specify a target name and click Add, or click Find and specify the chosen targets on the Find targets page.

      For example, suppose a managed target, myNode01, has a cluster named cluster2 to remove. Specify the target name:

        myNode01

    3. If user authentication is required, specify a user name, password, or any other authentication values as needed.

    4. Click Next.

  4. Specify parameters for the delete cluster job.

    1. For Cluster name, specify the name of cluster to remove.

      To see the names of existing clusters on the targets, click Find on the Specify job parameters page. On the Find target resources page, specify the targets and click Find. To continue with the example, to remove cluster2 from the myNode01 target, specify the cluster name:

        cluster2

    2. If the cluster belongs to a replication domain, optionally select Delete replication domain (true) to remove the cluster replication domain.

      By default, the product does not delete the cluster replication domain when the cluster is deleted. The default value is clear (false).

    3. Click Next.

  5. Schedule the job.

    1. Optionally specify one or more email addresses where notifications are sent when the job finishes.

      If we specify multiple email addresses, separate them with commas.

    2. Select when the job is available for submission.

    3. Select the job expiration.

    4. Optionally specify a recurring interval for the job, a start date and time for the interval, and an end date and time for the interval.

    5. Click Next.

  6. Review the summary, and click Finish to submit the job.


Results

The targets run the job and delete the cluster.


What to do next

On the Job status page, click the ID of the delete cluster job and view the job status. Click the status refresh icon

to refresh the displayed status.

If the job is not successful, view any error messages that result from running the job, correct the error condition, and submit the job again. correct the error condition, and submit the job again.

If the job is successful, click Jobs > Target resources. The names of deleted clusters are not in the list of resources.


Related tasks

  • Start and stop the job manager
  • Start and stop the deployment manager
  • Start and stop a node
  • Checking job status

  • Administrative job types
  • Find targets
  • Find target resources
  • Target resources collection