restoreConfig command



Search Tips   |   Advanced Search


The restoreConfig command is a simple utility to restore the configuration of your node after backing up the configuration using the backupConfig command. By default, all servers on the node stop before the configuration restores so that a node synchronization does not occur during the restoration. If the configuration directory already exists, it is renamed before the restoration occurs. For more information about where to run this command, see the Using command line tools article.

In a UNIX or Linux environment, the backupConfig command does not save file permissions or ownership information. The restoreConfig command uses the current umask and effective user ID (EUID) to set the permissions and ownership when restoring a file. If it is required that the restored files have the original permissions and ownership, use the tar command (available on all UNIX or Linux systems) to back up and restore the configuration.

For AIX only, if you are using a logical directory for was_install/config, the restoreConfig command will not work.

If you make changes to the application files in the was_install/installedApps directory but do not make the same changes to the application files in the was_install/config directory, the changes may be overwritten if you use the restoreConfig command. This is known as hot deployment.



The command syntax is as follows

restoreConfig <backup_file> [options]
where backup_file specifies the file to be restored. If you do not specify one, the command will not run.



The following options are available for the restoreConfig command:


Tells the restoreConfig command not to stop the servers before restoring the configuration.


Suppresses the progress information that the restoreConfig command prints in normal mode.

-location <directory_name>

Directory where the backup file is restored. The location defaults to the install_root/config directory.

-logfile <fileName>

Specifies the location of the log file to which information gets written.


Defines the profile of the Application Server process in a multi-profile installation. The -profileName option is not required for running in a single profile environment. The default for this option is the default profile.


Replaces the log file instead of appending to the current log.


Generates trace information into the log file for debugging purposes.

-username <name>

Specifies the user name for authentication if security is enabled in the server. Acts the same as the -user option.

-user <name>

Specifies the user name for authentication if security is enabled in the server. Acts the same as the -username option.

-password <password>

Specifies the password for authentication if security is enabled in the server.


Prints a usage statement.


Prints a usage statement.


Usage scenario

The following example

demonstrates correct syntax

The following example restores the given file to the /tmp directory and does not stop any servers before beginning the restoration

restoreConfig -location /tmp -nostop

Be aware that if you restore the configuration to a directory that is different from the directory that was backed up when you performed the backupConfig command, you may need to manually update some of the paths in the configuration directory.


See Also

backupConfig command




AIX is a trademark of the IBM Corporation in the United States, other countries, or both.