Migrating Network Deployment, Version 5.0.x to Version 5.1




Migrate V5.0.x of WAS Network Deployment to V5.1 before migrating the base nodes that comprise the cell. The Network Deployment node must always be at the highest release and fix level within a cell, to allow it to manage all nodes in the cell. Nodes in the cell can be at any V5 level.

You can also perform a silent migration to Network Deployment during a silent installation.

Use the following procedure to migrate the deployment manager node.


Steps for this task

Stop the V5.0.x deployment manager.Use the stopManager command from the install_root/bin directory. For example, use the following command on a Linux platform:


If you have security enabled, specify the -user and -password parameters of the command.

You can migrate a V5.0.x node without stopping it. But it is not necessary to have the node running to migrate its configuration. The migration tools can retrieve all the configuration data while the node is stopped. And stop the node before you can start the V5.1 node that you are installing. So, you can stop the node now.


Migration tip

Operating platform Tip in Platform-specific tips for installing and migrating
All platforms Avoiding the use of a V5.0.x deployment manager after migrating to V5.1

  • Use the migration tools to migrate the V5.0.x configuration to V5.1.The steps vary depending on whether you are migrating a V5.0.0 or V5.0.1 node with the embedded messaging client installed.

    1. Install the V5.1 product, as described in Installing the product.Select the migration option when it appears. If the migration option does not appear, cancel the installation.

      In some cases, such as when installing a non-English version, the installation wizard might not detect a previous version. You can force the migration panel to appear, by starting the installation with an option on the Install.exe or install command.

      For example, on Linux and UNIX-based platforms, use this command from the CD-ROM mount point:

      ./install -W previousVersionDetectedBean.previousVersionDetected="true"

    2. Verify the installation of the V5.1 deployment manager. Use the First Steps tool, as described in firststeps command, when the panel appears at the end of installing the product, or run the installation verification test, as described in Using the installation verification test, if the First Steps tool does not appear for some reason.

    3. (Optional)   Uninstall the V5.0.x deployment manager, as described in Uninstalling the product. Do not uninstall the V5.1 node.

      Perform this step only after you are certain that you have successfully migrated the configuration of the node you intend to delete.



    The migration tools do not migrate V5.0.0 or V5.0.1 Samples to the V5.1 Network Deployment node. A synchronization removes the Samples from the V5.0.0 or V5.0.1 nodes.

    The migration tools do migrate V5.0.2 Samples to the V5.1 Network Deployment node, to support cell members at the V5.0.2 level. If the migration did not migrate the V5.0.2 Samples, a synchronization would remove the Samples from the V5.0.2 nodes. After migrating all federated nodes to V5.1, the V5.0.2 Samples remain in the configuration. You can remove the V5.0.2 Samples at that time or replace them with the V5.1 samples.


    What to do next

    Return to Migrating configuration data to continue.
    Related concepts
    Migration tools
    Related tasks
    Migrating configuration data
    Related reference
    addNode command
    removeNode command
    serverStatus command
    startNode command
    startServer command
    stopNode command
    stopServer command
    startManager command
    stopManager command

    Searchable topic ID:   tinsmigratend50x
    Last updated: Jun 2, 2005 11:10:58 PM CDT    WAS Network Deployment, Version 5.1.1

    Library | Support | Terms of Use | Feedback