Manage access to community filesManage access to the files that you and other members add to your community.
Before you begin
You must be a community owner to change access levels to community files. You must also be logged in to IBM Connections.
About this task
When you first create a community, all members of the community are granted the Editor role by default so that they can share and upload files. Depending on the privacy requirements of your community, you might want to change the file access level for your members. Access to community files is always community-wide. Community owners are always file owners and have full access to upload, edit, and delete files, and to manage file permissions.
Community members can have one of the following access levels for uploading files:
Table 1. Access levels for uploading and sharing files
Role Members with this role can Editor Upload community-owned files and download files. Reader Share files using the Files application and download files.
The Editor and Reader roles allow community owners to control whether members can upload a new community-owned file to the community. Members can always share files from the Files application with the community. The ability to view community files depends on the type of community. Everyone can see and download files from communities with public access, however only community members can view and download files from a restricted community.
To edit file access levels for community members...
- Select Community Actions -> Edit Community at the top of the community's Overview page, and then select the Files tab.
You can also access edit options by selecting Edit from the Files widget action menu.
- Make the required changes, and click Save.
All community members are granted the same level of access.
Parent topicAdd files to a community
Sharing files with your community
Work with community files
Manage the Files widget
June 1, 2011 7:15:03 AM
Jun 1, 2011 7:15:03 AM 1