How do I share folders? 

Share your folders with people and groups, or make them public.


About this task

You can give people and groups Reader, Contributor, or Owner access.

People and groups with whom you share folders can be notified in the Updates tab in their home page, and by email if they specified that in their notification preferences. See Setting email notification preferences.

To see who has access to your folders, open the folder page and click the Sharing tab.

Option Description
To share a folder when you create it

  1. Click New Folder.

  2. Type a name.

  3. Type a description.

  4. Do one of the following:

    • Select People/Groups to share with specific people and groups. Select a Person or a Group and select an access level (described in this topic). Then start typing a name or email address and select that name or address when it displays.

    • Select Public to give everyone Reader access. Select Everyone can contribute to this folder to give everyone Contributor access. When you make a folder public, non-public files are removed from the folder.

  5. Click Save.

To share a folder after you create it

  1. Open the folder.

  2. Click Share.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • Select People/Groups to share with specific people and groups. Select a Person or a Group and select an access level (described in this topic). Then start typing a name or email address and select that name or address when it displays.

    • Select Public to give everyone Reader access. Select Everyone can contribute to this folder to give everyone Contributor access. When you make a folder public, non-public files are removed from the folder.

  4. Click Share.

To make a public folder non-public

  1. Open the folder page.

  2. Click the Sharing tab at the bottom.

  3. Click the x next to Everyone (public).

This only makes the folder non-public. People you have specifically shared the folder with can still see and work with it.

To make a shared folder private

  1. Open the folder page.

  2. Click the Sharing tab at the bottom.

  3. Click the x next to all people and folders in all lists.

This makes you the only person who can see or work with the folder.


Parent topic

Files overviews, how-tos, and FAQs


Related tasks


Setting email notification preferences


   

 

});