How do I create folders?Folders contain files. Folders can be private, shared, or public.
About this task
- Files in private folders can only be read and worked with by their owner. If you make a private folder into a public folder, files that are not public are removed from the folder.
Files in shared folders can be read and worked with by people and groups with whom the folder has been shared. People and groups can have Reader, Contributor, or Owner access to a folder. Readers can read files in the folder. Contributors can add files to the folder, delete files they have added, and see information about files in the folder. Owners have ownership of the folder along with the original owner. They can share the folder with other people, and delete any file. The owner of a file can delete it, or remove it, from a folder.
When you share a folder with people and groups, they can see the files in that folder. But they cannot see those same files anywhere else unless you explicitly share the files with them. For example, you add a file to a folder and share the folder with Cathy. But you have not shared the file with Cathy. So she can see and open the file in the folder, but cannot see it in any other list.
When you share a folder with people or change their role, those people are notified by email. Group members are not notified by email.
Files in public folders can be read by anyone, but only the owner and people who have been made Contributor or Owner can add files to them. A folder owner can open a folder up for group collaboration by clicking Share, and then clicking Everyone can contribute to this folder. This allows logged-in users to read, edit, and add files to the folder.
- Click New Folder.
- Type a name for the folder.
- Optional: Type a description.
- Select any of the following options:
- Select No one (private) to make the folder private. Only the owner can see and edit it.
- Select People/Groups (give specific permissions to others) to share the file with specific people. Perform these steps:
- Select a Person or a Group.
- Assign an access level (shared access levels are described above).
- Start typing a name or email address, then select that name or address when it displays.
- Click Everyone can contribute to this folder to make the folder public and allow all logged-in users to add files to it.
- Select Public (visible to everyone) to make the file visible to everyone, even people who have not logged in.
Note: An administrator can configure the system so that everyone must log in, or only a certain group of people can log in. In this case public files are only available to users who are able to log in.
Parent topicFiles overviews, how-tos, and FAQs
Welcome to Files
Who can work with files?
What happens to my file when someone edits it?