Delete or inactivating users in the Profiles databaseYou can use an IBM Tivoli Directory Integrator assembly line command to delete or inactivate users in the Profiles database.
Before you begin
To run the Tivoli Directory Integrator assembly line command that allows you to delete specific users from the Profiles database, first ensure that the dbrepos_fields_prefixed property is set to true. Setting this property to true ensures that the SQL statements have the prefix of PROF_, for example, PROF_UID rather than just UID.
About this task
You can use the delete_or_inactivate_employees assembly line command to delete specific users in the Profiles database or set their status to inactive. When you run this command, the photo and pronunciation files associated with the employee are also deleted from the photo and pronunciation tables.
To delete specific users from the Profiles database...
- Create a text file named delete_or_inactivate_employees.in that contains the distinguished names and user IDs for the users that you want to delete from the database. Use the following format to represent a user:
- <user_dn> corresponds to the PROF_SOURCE_UID in the Profiles database.
- <user_uid> corresponds to the PROF_UID in the Profiles database.
Note: When deleting multiple users, there must be a period separator (.) between each entry. The "." must be added after the row containing the user's UID. If the separator is omitted, an error occurs when you use the delete command to delete the users from the database.
- Place the file in the Tivoli Directory Integrator location specified for your deployment.
For more information, see Configure Tivoli Directory Integrator.
- Enter the following command to delete the users from the database.
- IBM AIX or Linux™: delete_or_inactivate_employees.sh
- Microsoft™ Windows™: delete_or_inactivate_employees.bat
The following table shows the properties that are used by the command and their default values. These properties can be found in the profiles_tdi.properties file.
Table 1. Properties used with the delete_or_inactivate_employees command
Property Description delete_or_inactivate_employees_simple_file The list of people to be deleted from the database. The default value is delete_or_inactivate_employees.in. sync_delete_or_inactivate Controls what happens to a user record when the delete action is performed. This property can be set to one of the following values: delete or inactivate. The default value is inactivate.
When the property's value is changed from the default inactivate to delete, the user is removed from the profiles database and, if the user exists in member or login tables for any of the other applications, the user is inactivated in those applications. When the user is inactivated, their email address is removed and all login values associated with that user are also removed.
When this property is set to inactivate, the inactive status is propagated to the member and login tables for all the applications.
Here is an example of an entry from the delete_or_inactivate_employees.in file:
$dn:cn=Amy Jones3,cn=Users,l=WestfordFVT,st=Massachusetts,c=US,ou=Lotus,o=Software Group,dc=ibm,dc=comuid:Amy Jones3 .
When loading multiple users, there must be a period separator between each entry.
$dn:cn=Amy Jones3,cn=Users,l=WestfordFVT,st=Massachusetts,c=US,ou=Lotus,o=Software Group,dc=ibm,dc=comuid:Amy Jones3 . $dn:cn=Amy Jones8,cn=Users,l=WestfordFVT,st=Massachusetts,c=US,ou=Lotus,o=Software Group,dc=ibm,dc=com uid:Amy Jones8 .
Parent topicManage user data using Tivoli Directory Integrator scripts
Configure Tivoli Directory Integrator
Customize the logic used for the delete operation
Batch files for processing Profiles data
November 11, 2011
Nov 11, 2011 1:17:02 PM Removed information about user's status changing to 1 per SPR#ZYCI8N8C... 1